The IRPWIND comprises 24 partners, who are all European research institutions and universities working in the area of wind energy research. All partners are part of the European Energy Research Alliance (EERA) Joint Programme on Wind Energy (JP WIND), except for The European Wind Energy Association (WindEurope). The IRPWIND project and the EERA JP WIND are highly interlinked in its partners, objectives, strategy and organization. In short the EERA JP WIND has been working for 4 years on voluntary basis, but with the IRPWIND project the European Commission has made it possible to accelerate the collaboration and ambitions in order to form a European Integrated Programme on Wind Energy Research.



The aim of the IRPWIND is to foster better integration of European research activities in the field of wind energy research with the aim of accelerating the transition towards a low-carbon economy and maintain and increase European competitiveness. The IRPWIND is expected to both benefit existing priority settings as well as to improve the quality and implementation of future priority settings through the coordinating effect on the research communities. An objective is to integrate the various capacities and resources in the joint research activities in the IRP with other ongoing European and National projects carried out by IRPWIND partners and/or other EERA JP WIND members.

The IRPWIND and EERA oint programme on wind energy provides the strategic leadership for the medium to long term research to support the European Industrial Initiative on Wind Energy in the framework of the Strategic Energy Technology (SET) Plan and provides added value through:

  • Strategic leadership of the underpinning research
  • Joint prioritisation of research tasks and infrastructure
  • Alignment of European and national research efforts
  • Execution of coordinated and structured research in medium to long-term programmes
  • Coordination with industry, and Sharing of knowledge and research infrastructure.


Organization of EERA JP WIND

JP WIND is coordinated by Dr. Peter Hauge Madsen, DTU Wind Energy (DK).

The Joint programme on Wind Energy consists of seven sub-programmes:


  1. Wind Conditions, Coordinated by Dr. Hans Ejsing Jørgensen, DTU Wind Energy (DK)
  2. Aerodynamics, Coordinated by Dr. Peter Eecen, ECN (NL)
  3. Structures and Materials, Coordinated by Dr. Arno van Wingerde, Fraunhofer IWES (DE)
  4. Offshore Wind Energy, Coordinated by Dr. John O. Tande, SINTEF (NO)
  5. Grid Integration, Coordinated by Dr. Kurt Rohrig, Fraunhofer IWES (DE)
  6. Research Infrastructures, Coordinated by Dr. Antonio Ugarte, CENER (ES)
  7. Wind Integration - econommic and social aspects, Coordinated by Klaus Skytte, DTU Wind Energy (DK)
13 JULY 2024